Bullards Beach is a large, family-oriented park located just two miles north of Bandon. The campground is nestled among shore pines and well protected from the strong ocean breezes. Besides three loops of campsites, the park boasts 13 yurts, making year-round camping a very popular choice.
The horse camp features easy access to the beach and dunes for our equestrian campers. Well known for excellent fishing and crabbing opportunities on the Coquille River, our boat launch facilities are well-used during the summer and fall seasons.
From the registration booth in the campground, take a walk or bike ride on the mostly paved pathway to the beach (a little more than a mile). The path weaves through the open, grassy fields and lowland forest across a plain to the sandy dunes. All along the path are views of the beautiful Coquille River. Across the river is Bandon Marsh National Wildlife Refuge, sporting a variety of resident and migrating wildlife. Be sure to bring your binoculars!
The historic Coquille River Lighthouse is located at the end of the beach access road in the park. It's staffed from mid-May through mid-October with park volunteers who interpret the history of the area. From this point, there are 4.5 miles of open beach to explore. Bring your mountain bike to ride along the hard-packed sand along the edge of the surf, or just enjoy a leisurely stroll along the ocean shore.
And there's more nearby. Across the river is Bandon by the Sea. Visit a variety of shops, galleries, and restaurants in the town that is called "The Cranberry Capitol of the World," as well as the "The Storm Watching Capitol of the World." Learn the legend of Face Rock and access miles of shoreline at our day-use state parks on Beach Loop Drive. For more information on the local area, visit the Tourist Information Center in Old Town.
Hours are 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily from mid-May through mid-October.
Approximately 100 full-hookup sites - More than 82 electrical sites with water - 13 yurts (one pet friendly) - Horse camp with eight primitive sites - Hiker/biker camp - Yurt meeting hall - RV dump station - Universal Access - Six campsites and three yurts are accessible to campers with disabilities.
The park was acquired between 1962 and 1985 by purchase from various owners, including the U. S. Bureau of Land Management. The Coquille River Lighthouse, built by the U. S. Coast Guard in 1896 and operated until 1939, sits at the confluence of the river and ocean. The Bullard family were early settlers in the Bandon area. Robert Bullard established a store and post office at the mouth of the Coquille River and operated a ferry, which crossed the river near the present bridge on U.S. 101.
US-101 N/Oregon Coast Hwy, Oregon